Episcopal Diocese of Washington

To draw people to Jesus and embody his love
for the world by equipping faith communities,
promoting spiritual growth, and striving for justice

Diocesan Convention

2020 Convention

2020 Diocesan Convention

January 25, 2020

Washington National Cathedral

Diocesan Convention is the yearly legislative meeting presided over by the bishop and consisting of the clergy of and elected representatives of its congregations. It considers the diocesan budget and other matters regarding the mission and ministry of the diocese.

The 125th Convention was held on January 25, 2020 at Washington National Cathedral (map).  Media, materials, and resources from previous conventions may be found in the convention archive.  

This year, we were pleased to welcome Presiding Bishop Michael Curry as our preacher at the Convention worship. In addition to being our convention preacher, Bishop Curry was with us for a weekend of live-giving events culminating in a revival service on Sunday afternoon. Learn more here


Watch the Convention Recording

The 2020 Diocesan Convention was recorded and can be viewed on our Youtube channel.  

Interested in a particular section? Use the links below to help "jump" you to the right section (hour:minute:second).


Read Bishop Mariann's 2020 Convention Address


Convention Election Results

Elected to Serve on Standing Committee

The Rev. John Harmon, Trinity, DC
The Rev. Beth O'Callaghan, St. Nicholas', Germantown

Ms. Anne LeVeque, Ascension, Silver Spring
Mr. Anton Vanterpool, St. Alban's, DC

Ms. Kathryn "Kay" Pierson, Trinity, DC, will serve as President of Standing Committee

Deputies to General Convention

The Rev. Glenna Huber, Epiphany, DC
The Rev. Betsy Gonzalez, Christ Church, Capitol Hill
The Rev. Greg Syler, St. George's Valley Lee & Ascension, Lexington Park
The Rev. David Wacaster, Good Shepherd, Silver Spring

Ms. Iman Green Syler, St. George's, Valley Lee
Mr. Gerry Perez, Holy Trinity, Collington
Ms. Michele Glidden, St. Mary Magdalene, Wheaton
Mr. Nathan Brown, St. Paul's, K Street

Alternates to General Convention

The Rev. Yoimel Gonzalez Hernandez, St. Alban's, DC
The Rev. Susan Fritz, Christ Church, Durham
The Rev. Linda Calkins, St. Bartholomew's, Laytonsville
The Rev. Emily Lloyd, St. Peter's, Poolesville

Mr. Matthew Taylor, St. John's, Lafayette Square
Dr. Enid LaGesse, Ascension, Silver Spring
Mr. Anton Vanterpool, St. Alban's, DC
Mr. Jason Crighton, St. Thomas', Dupont Circle



The following resolutions passed at the 2020 Convention:

Applications to serve on the Diocesan Stewardship and Parish Vitality Advisory Committee will be accepted through Thursday, February 27.